Snow day

snowday1

Believe it or not yesterday there was grass in my backyard. Sure, it was yellow dead grass, but it was grass. And it meant that spring was almost here. Ha ha. Not so! Overnight winter came and reclaimed Montreal–and this photo was taken hour ago, it’s a few inches higher now! Yes, inches! If you look closely at the above picture you will see a bird feeder on a post, and you will see the black tip of the post sticking out. Well, right now–about three hours later–the snow on the bird feeder is higher than the black tip!

snowday2

The school board called a snow day, because, you know, it doesn’t snow very often in Montreal (yes, you are detecting irony in my tone today!). I think someone woke up, looked out their window, and said “No way!” and called a snow day. The kids are now labouring through it, up to their knees, building a fort with all the Β kids in our immediate vicinity–now that is fun to watch, from indoors, with a mug of steaming tea–but my toddler is screaming to go out–so out we will go. Wish me luck.

Hope you’re enjoying the weather–and if it’s not snowy and cold, enjoy it even more for ME!

10 thoughts on “Snow day

    • Oh, Linda, I can only imagine the weather you’re having! Enjoy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It’s supposed to carry on all week like this! It looks like about two feet feel today alone. It’s pretty though, Just horrible timing. We want spring! Today is the last day of winter–it’s going out with a bang! Lol

      Sent from my iPad

    • Ahhh, at this moment, when I’m looking at my car that I have to dig out in the morning to take the kids to school I am terribly envious!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPad

  1. Happy first day of Spring! We don’t have snow on the west coast but it is rainy, cold and windy. I guess in March you can expect anything in Canada. Growing up on the prairies we lived for ‘snow days’

    • It was our first snow day of the year! We used to have a couple a year when I was a kid, but there seems to be less snow in general these last years. The day after the storm was gorgeous, and temperatures are back up with it all melting away so quickly, it’ll all be gone in a few days. Happy spring πŸ™‚ I hope the wind and rain lift!

Leave a Reply

