Strawberries from the wood

I was making breakfast this morning, peanut butter jam for the big kids, sunflower butter for the little one, topped with a local mixed-berry jam. The jam was terrific, and I did an ingredient check to see which berries were included: blueberry, blackberry, strawberry from the wood.

I suppose the translator was not fluent in english and wasn’t certain how to say sauvages in english. The french ingredient list included fraises sauvages–wild strawberries.

At the same time I was reading over my son’s english sentences he had for homework. They were very simple sentences, and didn’t say very much. I picked up a book and read him a few sentences picked randomly. Each sentence is a story onto itself, I explained. It has a beginning, a middle, and an end. It has an action, movement. Even a description bears hidden momentum. My 8-year-old stared at me with big eyes, and nodded his head.

It got me thinking, does each of my sentences tell a story? Can I randomly read a phrase here and there and create a story from it? And does each sentence on its own lead to endless places and possibilities?

I can only hope that it does (and it gives me something else to look for while editing). It’s the way these sentences are organized and arranged that tell the story I am writing.

The words wild strawberries tell of little delicious red berries, tart, sweet, juicy, and fleeting. A vivid picture. But the wordsΒ strawberry from the wood conjure a story. And I’m sure it’s a different one for each of us.

24 thoughts on “Strawberries from the wood

  1. I think your sentences do not each tell a story but they are like an artist’s brushstroke painting a beautiful picture. I always leave your posts with that “I have just seen the picture” feeling. A picture is worth a thousand words, they say.

    1. Well, that’s quite something, Marvin!! Thank you!
      I would love to paint. One day I hope to. I often wonder how challenging I’ll find it.
      But, next on my list is children’s illustrations. I have so many ideas floating around, I just have never spent any time drawing. It’s a skill that needs years of attention, I imagine.
      For now, my words do the painting for me πŸ™‚

  2. There are some great books you can get that teach you how to draw in easy steps. Your local library’s probably got some. Not that it turned me into an illustrator, but it is great fun learning and one has a real sense of achievement afterwards. Wild strawberries from the wood remind me of my childhood, when we used to pick them regularly.

    1. Hi Maria–thanks for the tip–I’ll certainly look into what my library has. One has to begin somewhere right?
      I’ve been thinking I might give it a whirl over the summer with the kids. Hopefully I’ll manage.

      I like your story–picking berries in the woods as a child πŸ™‚

      1. Relaxing?? I’m not sure about that in this house! lol. I imagine fighting over the supplies with my kids, telling my toddler–NO! ONLY ON THE PAPER!!!. lol. But, it will be fun for sure!!
        Thanks for the direction. I’m in Canada, but we have carry a lot of UK publications. I did check one title from the publisher you gave me, but it’s not at our local library. But, the list is quite extensive at the WH Smith website, and I plan to go back and dig around some more. Thanks so very much, Maria!

      2. You’re welcome. It’s relaxing when you take pencil and drawing pad out into nature…without little ones…and just let your creative pencil-juices flow!

      3. Hi Maria, I thought I replied to you but I see my comment got gobbled up by WP (one of many mishaps from WP lately!)
        I had said that going off alone into nature does sound great and relaxing. We often walk down to the water and I see many artists and photographers set up. I’d love to join them! Thanks for the encouragement!

      4. Hehe, you’ll find that it won’t take long and you’ll be the centre of attention. People love to watch artists work. It’s quite a good way to make new friends…I love making a mental note of the way people speak, especially when they have mannerisms or apply a quirky turn of phrase. Since most people get an attack of the “pretentious bug” when they see people draw or paint, one can pick up some pretty funny stuff…great for short stories.

    1. It would be fun to know what each of us creates from this prompt, Linda. Ah well, I just don’t think my blog is profficient enough for that type of excercise…
      Have fun with your sentences!
      πŸ™‚

  3. You would make a great English language teacher!
    That is so true though. Often when I write a story, I think of the idea or ‘the big picture’ but I take for granted that each little sentence is important and plays its part in creating that whole story.
    Thanks for a thought-provoking post Jennifer, I’ll be double-checking those sentences while editing now! πŸ˜‰

    1. Hi Vanyieck!! NIce to hear from you!!
      You have been quite the experimental one haven’t you? I think it’s great!
      When I was going through senteces on as their own entity with my son I saw they told hints of stories, almost like clouds that take forms and our imaginations do the rest.

  4. I love it when something is translated into a different/unique meaning. “Strawberries from the wood” sounds very romantic. I bought some noodles at the local vege market one day and the package said “after boiling in water for ten minutes you will have a dish of delicious” My husband and I now use that term everytime we have a meal we enjoy. “My that was a dish of delicious!” I love this post!!

    1. Hi Nisha–thanks for the tag!!
      It’s been such a hectic week & I’ve been watching my inbox fill up with posts thinking “slow down everyone! I need to catch up!”. Funny how sometimes everyone’s so quiet and then full of posts all at the same time’ lol
      I’ll try to come up with some fun questions–the pressure is on πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

