How’s your attitude?

Writing is a frame of mind.

Something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately. My attitude.

My editing has been slow lately, and at the beginning of the week when I was headed out to the local coffee shop, I heard myself think: ok, here comes another work session when I’ll hardly move through my ms at all. I literally stopped walking, and re-arranged what I was telling myself.

I’m going to sit and work for 2 hours, and it will be great. And it was!

It made me question my whole attitude towards my writing. In general, I’m a confident person, but there are times when I think that my writing is nonsense (we all do, right?). I do know that part of me finds my current wip silly – very silly, and I’ve been trying to re-arrange that.

But the real question for me today is what is the right attitude?

Do I sit to down to write thinking that this is great, fantastic, I’m a terrific writer, or will that just make me a lazy writer?

How do I keep that unconscious critical eye open and aware without being self-defeatist?

Where is that ever-changing line of balance between these two extremes?

Today I sit to write and think, I can do this. I can keep learning. These are the words I think I need to hear today.

How about you: how’s your attitude?

12 thoughts on “How’s your attitude?

  1. Attitude, for me, is how I am perceiving at the moment. Shame to say but most of the time I think what I write really stinks and am thankful for all the family and friends who lie to me and tell me its good. What comes from this is that I don’t write or write grudgingly. But, my best times are, my best attitude is when I don’t care. That is, I write with abandon simply to pour out the muse. Who cares who likes it. This are great times even if this stuff is junk.

  2. I have days when I doubt everything I write. I even stop to wonder if it’s all worth the trouble. Luckily, that feeling doesn’t last so very long. I wouldn’t have made it this far if it had. I’m not sure there is any writer who doesn’t have doubts from time to time.

    “Today I sit to write and think, I can do this. I can keep learning. These are the words I think I need to hear today.” You make a good point, Jennifer. We are the ones who have to tell ourselves to keep going. Others can do it for us, but it really has to come from within. Happy writing. 🙂

  3. My focus is always on my purpose, which is helping others unlock their potential. I tend to be a perfectionist and expect everyone of my articles to be profound. I have to remember what may not be profound to me, may be profound to someone else. I think if blogging ever becomes a chore instead of a passion, I’ll need to take a step back and re-evaluate. Thanks for the great read!

    • Hi Mike, I just checked out your site, and understand your need for perfectionism! lol. It’s quote something you have there and are sharing – good for you.

      It is something that i’ve had to remind myself as well, that what may be silly to one is not to another. The reason I keep with my current work is because under the story, there is a lot of depth that I think is important to get out.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  4. I had this attitude adjustment experience last night, Jennifer. I told myself, “You can do this. You can write.” and I did. I typed 1,000 words of a new story! Just as you’ve come to realize, I believe sometimes we defeat ourselves.

    Good luck with your writing today! 🙂

  5. I try and put my thoughts aside when I’m writing a first draft – I just enjoy the process, and roll with it, acknowledging that the words aren’t going to be perfect, but that’s okay. I stick my critical hat on when I need to redraft, or outline, or edit. I think most of the time I am pretty hard on myself though, because if I think it’s going to need work, I am always pleasantly surprised when I give myself some distance and then come back to it 🙂 I think I’ve hit the point where I’ve come to accept that nothing is unfixable, as long as I keep working on it, it’s going to keep getting better. I’m in it for the long haul, not for instant gratification! (that said, lots of the stages of writing are pretty gratifying 🙂 lol).

    • I am the same, JC. I don’t think at all writing a draft, I just let it flow. I love it, and honestly can’t wait to get back there again. What I’ve done in the past is draft something new while editing, it keeps all of me happy, but this time around I’m letting my goals drive me, and I’m only editing.
      Nothing is unfixable – I like that ! A lot! 🙂

  6. There’s that question of balance again. How do we maintain a positive attitude without becoming arrogant?
    I must admit sometimes I blur the lines between confidence/positive self-talk and arrogance but I feel humility is also vital for our writing: it motivates us to work hard and prevents us from being lazy(as you said) and taking things for granted.
    Excellent post Jennifer, and very important questions you’ve posed here… 🙂

Leave a Reply

