Nail polish, yoga, and laundry.

I’ve been writing for more consecutive hours in the past few weeks than I think I ever have. I’ve been training myself to extend my concentration span and  my productivity. But, I’ve noticed that I need breaks. If I start to fidget, I know it’s time to pause a few minutes. Sometimes I fight this need for a breather, but when I give in, I come back still, and with a great focus.

I haven’t come up with great breaks when I work out of the house yet, I can’t go for a walk when I’m at Starbucks, can I? I suppose I could, but then I’d have to pack everything up, and come back. I usually just stare out the window, so any suggestions would be great.

At home though I have endless possibilities for a break. One of the things I’ll do for a break is a short burst of exercise. Some muscle strengthening, or cardio, or yoga. I have these workout DVD that give 10 minute segments, so sometimes I’ll throw one of those on. Sometimes I’ll have a snack. Or, I’ll blog a few minutes, but I’ve noticed this doesn’t work that well, I need to step away from the computer. I’ll fold laundry. Unload the dishwasher. I love painting my nails – the colour is inspiring when I come back to the computer.

How about you, what do you do for a break during a writing session?

12 thoughts on “Nail polish, yoga, and laundry.

  1. I like your workout break idea. I tend to clean — haul out the vacuum or dust (something usually done under duress). Pretty sure that won’t work at Statbucks though.

    Outside of the home I’m a window gazer, too. Wish I could be more helpful.

    1. It’s a catch for me: If I leave the house I am left alone with no distraction but also with no possibility of moving when I need to. But if I stay at home, it’s such a full house that the distarctions are endless. oh well….I decide day by day where Ill work best. Happy vaccuming! lol

  2. What great ideas for ways to take a break! And YAY for getting more writing done – sounds fabulous. The kids always force me to take breaks, more often than I’d like. Actually, still not getting a whole lot done. Ah well lol

    1. I have no idea how you write around the kids. I absolutly cannot! It;s not the noise it’s the constant demands. That and needing to keep them from killing themselves! lol. the things they get into. I wish you writing time. It will happen!!

  3. Like you, I do yoga. It gets the blood flowing, changes my perspective, all those good things you already know. However, I don’t do yoga at Starbucks. When I go to Starbucks, I usually get antsy after an hour, so the natural break is to change venues.

    I don’t have the source for this, but my writing teacher told us she read that there’s some type of physical “dictate” that humans can naturally focus for about 45 minutes at a time, so those breaks make sense.

    1. Cathryn, when I read your comment I had this mental image of someone in Starbucks doing yoga! lol. I like your idea of changing venues. I guess I’ve been too cheap to consider that option. Spend another 10 dollars on fatty unhealthy food. lol. But I will try it next time I feel myself at a limit. Get in the car, go for a little dirve. park. walk. next coffe shop. Sounds like a plan!

      Your 45 minutes is very intersting to me, especially because my kids only slept in 45 minute increments.

      1. I don’t change to more calorie- and $$-filled venues 😉 … I go to the library and have also been known to sit in my car on a shady side street (although it can be challenging for actually writing, works better for editing).

      2. Thanks for the suggestions, Cathryn! I’ve tried the library but find it too calm for me. Is it mommy brain that I need movement and noise to focus? I’ve thought about bringing earphones with me to the library, and listening to music…
        You’re very lucky you have the outdoor solution as well. This year has been exceptionally warm, but usually bu now, we’re in winter coats with the heaters on high!
        good writing!

      3. LOL. You must have a much quieter library in your area! And I only work in my car during spring or mild summer days. You know it’s bitterly cold here, often as low as 55-60 degrees F mid-day 😉

      4. lol. It’s like 50 F here and super warm!! It’s never that warm at this time of year. We’re all walking around in short sleeves – it’s great! lol. I guess it’s all about what your used to. And yes, my library is deathly quiet!!

  4. My first response was, Breaks?! But I do take breaks from writing, just not from the computer. I can no longer do yoga, but I can still stretch … and need to do that more. I can still go outside and sit in the sun … and I need to do that more too. Sigh.

    I love the nail polish trick. I might try that. It would almost make me feel like a grown up. 🙂

    1. Linda, I really don’t like the computer, that’s why I need to get away from it. I like what it does, and would never ever think of managing without, but I don’t like the way it makes me feel.

      So funny- Nail polish makes me feel like a kid! I think it’s cause I use vivid colours, the same stuff I’d paint on my 5 year old most of the time. I love colour!!

Leave a Reply

