finding my voice

In my last post I talked about how I’d lost my way with my wip.

I’ve spent the last week finding my way back. It’s the first time since I began writing that this has happened to me, so it was a good thing to experience.

There were many factors that led to this disconnection with my wip, but the main one was that I was trying to force it be something it was not. Ever try to be something you’re not? I guess it was sort of like that. I was trying to make it more commercial, more blingy and flashy. With that came changes in my MC, causing her to do things and say things that were not her. All because I was trying to force the situation.

Finally, the strain began showing in my prose. That’s what forced me to realize all of this! I’m so happy it happened here, when I’m working on the opening pages, rather than if I’d edited the next 300 odd pages! Phew. 🙂

How did I get back?

Well, the first thing I did was spend two days sleep walking in my novel. Capturing the mood and atmosphere. Listening to it, listening to MC. That was great, and I really saw how far I strayed.

Step 2: I asked myself what’s my story. What needs to be portrayed in my opening scenes, to set the course for all future events and turning points. I made a list of the information that I think the reader needs in the first few pages, and then a list of stuff that come out over the next 10 or 20 pages.

So, I’ve begun re-writing. Again. In my voice. And it feels good 🙂

Next week Linda Cassidy Lewis, author of Brevity of Roses, will be guest blogging here!

11 thoughts on “finding my voice

  1. Good for you! It sounds like you quit trusting yourself as a writer and started over-thinking your story. I do this too and it always takes me awhile to get back on track. I hear some advice to “write for the market” and, like you said, try to force my writing to be something I think it should be rather than what it is. What makes my writing unique is that it’s written MY way. If I want to continue writing, and be happy writing, I can only write what is true to me.

    May the rest of your editing progress smoothly. 🙂

    • Oh, I hopse the editing process goes well too. I think I mentioned to you that I’m moving from first to third pov. Agh climbing a mountain.
      One day I’ll post about why.

    • sorry pressed post, prematurely!!!
      I did quit trusting myself. I was also listening to people telling me that the work was fine, good the way it was, why change it? Once I did, and they re-read what I’d done after finding my voice again they were understood comepletly!! I need to figure out a wat to remind myself on a regular basis to trust myself.

    • Thanks, Sophia. Lisitng my information is something I do once I complete my first draft. I do my first draft by pure intuition, and move onto the purposefull writing afterwards. I find it helps a lot for me to see what my readers need to know, and what character traits they need to see from the offset. It also allows me room to play with dropping pieces of info.

  2. In this month’s issue of Writer’s Digest, the focus is on editing and revising. One article discussed getting away from your work, doing something else creative or artistic or something general, and THEN coming back to it. It can be so difficult to immerse yourself in the same work that you either love so much or start to hate.
    You are so fortunate, Jennifer, to have found your way home. Stay there; it’s where you (as we all) need to be.

    • I’ll have to pick up the issue of writer’s digest. Thanks for mentioning it!!
      I’m very fortunate that I have young ones at home, becuase I’m constantly immeresed in their creativity!! (and I’ve noticed how much playing music helps as well, now I’ve returned to it)

  3. Yay, Jennifer! It’s so weird how we can wander astray from _ourselves_. I’m glad you got back on track before, like you said, you’d edited several hundred pages. Happy editing/rewriting/writing/submersing! 🙂

  4. Glad to hear you got your voice back. I’m sure it’s a place where we have all been at one time or another. Voice is such an odd thing, right there at some times while other times it seems to slip from our grasp. Lots of luck!

    • Thanks, Laura! It’s the first time I’ve experiences this. It’s something I had to go through, and in the process I learned so muc more making my writing more complete. Climbing that ladder, step after step.

Leave a Reply

