Don’t touch that!

Today I’m like a child. The alternate ego in me, the mother, keeps telling myself NO. Don’t do that! Bad hand! Get away from the computer.

 

Nothing seems right. I’m second guessing every step I’ve taken in this novel. I want to change everything, cut, delete, rip, shred, and, and then what? I’m throwing a temper tantrum and I don’t even know what I want, or where I want to be.

It should be like this – yes – brilliant!

No! Makes no sense, that’s so out of character!

Step away from the computer. Ok, ok, if you’re good, and don’t touch anything you can write a crazy blog post where you’re seen yelling at yourself. I was good, so here I am.

It’s so hard not to go in and undo everything, but I have to.

On the days when it all seems like crap, step away.

Tomorrow, or maybe the day after, it’ll all be bright, shiny, and beautiful again.

 

8 thoughts on “Don’t touch that!

  1. Oh Jen- I can’t tell you how many conversations I’ve had about my ghost novel like this, lol. It’s true, after a day, even a week, the editing doesn’t seem as bad.
    This may be a good time for your favorite junk (comfort) food…

    1. lol, yes Jen, I actually took the kids for donuts last night! (I think the last time we did that was about 2 years ago!)
      Mind you, it’s not my first choice in comfort food, but cinammon and chocolate combo is šŸ™‚

  2. I need to take this approach instead of what I normally do when the writing drives me crazy–DELETE!! Isn’t that awful? There’s no telling how many potential Pulitzer Prize works have gone poof. LOL

    1. poof! lol
      I have so many copies of everything from the many times I’ve deleted and added it’s ridiculous. But, it’s true, what seems terrible one moment can be really good usable material.

  3. Some days are like that. Stepping back a bit usually helps me to gain some perspective. Is there a writer out there who never second guesses? I don’t think so. Wish it didn’t have to be that way, though.

Leave a Reply

