Keep shoveling

There’s mountains of snow that fell between last night and now. Spring break was last week, and my son went to school today with the hopes of building a snowman. It’s all part of life in Canada. I think we need to rename spring break, or perhaps we need to change the date.

My husband was late for work, shovelling, my son was late for school – you got it, because we were shoveling out the car. I missed baby group, yup, ’cause I didn’t feel like shoveling again. It just doesn’t stop falling.

I’ve been writing, and playing with kids while they were home for the week, and doing all the grown-up stuff required of me this last week, so there’s been no time for blogging. It also means my planned post about de-cluttering is not written, and will be next (I hope).

I recently began taking violin lessons again. I was chatting with my teacher about the language of music, and I happened to mention that I’m a writer. She said, playing the violin is much harder than writing.

The thing about writing is we can make it as easy or as hard as we want it to be. I choose to make writing very difficult. I like multitudes of layers, composition that is seemless. The more I work, the less you as a reader do. And you get more out of the read. I can get lazy when it comes to snow, but as for the writing, I won’t ever stop shoveling.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Keep shoveling

  1. We all approach writing differently. I’ve been reading a wide variety of books this past while and paying attention to the various writing styles. I’ve come to see that I enjoy stories that are layered, ones that give me something to think about. I don’t necessarily want a story with a beginning, middle and end, or in that order. I acknowledge that not everyone feels that way.

    I have no idea how you find time for everything, Jennifer. You’re amazing!

  2. “I like multitudes of layers, composition that is seemless. The more I work, the less you as a reader do.” What a wonderful attitude! It is easier to get things done when you have more than one child.

    • Thank you, Jennifer!
      Yes, I find that a lot. For me, a lot of it has to do with not experiencing guilt when doing something for myself. But more, it’s about not fighitng my situation – that took up so much energy and I wasn’t even aware. Third baby is so freeing for me.
      Thanks for the comment!

  3. Keep shovelling, and remember: “A writer is somebody for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people” – Thomas Mann
    šŸ™‚

  4. Very interesting post, and glad to see that you”re taking violin lessons again. I’ve never played the instrument, but I understand it’s more difficult than the piano.

    • I’m learning, Lawrence. Been learning on and off for some years. Now that the kids are taking piano, my own pratice time fits right in and it’s great that the whole family is doing music (even the baby lol).
      I love it!

Leave a Reply

