When the Fog lifts

I’ve been in a baby haze. The world covered in mist of drooling, teething, baby, with drippy nose, and congested chest. I’ve been in a world where my little writing self went to retreat in defeat, awaiting her moment to surface and smile on the earth again.

Well, that moment came last Friday.

So much of this blog is about being a mom and leaving the writing space and coming back. Exiting and re- entering. I was worried this time around, wondering if I would be able to enter into my story, my characters. Before doing so I thought maybe it was time to move on for now, begin a new draft, one where I don’t have to think, just free write.

Yet, I came back and it was as though I’ve never left. I slid right in, remembering what has to go where, who is who and what’s what. If overwhelmed with the amount of work awaiting me, I at least know it is a task that can be accomplished. Next time the fog descends, I hope to feel re-assured that coming back is possible, even if time goes by.

What about you? If you leave your work for a few weeks can get into it again? Do you have tricks, like leaving notes for yourself?

I hope all your writing is going beautifully!! And I hope to be able to catch up with you all!!

16 thoughts on “When the Fog lifts

  1. That’s fantastic news that you slipped back into your fictional world as if you’d never left. It shows the power of the subconscious, where all fiction finds its life.

    I can usually slip back in fairly easily, it’s the fear of not being able to that hinders me more than anything. Notes help a lot, but it’s amazing how reading and starting to edit just a few lines can pull me back in and before I know it I’m immersed.

    Welcome back, I’m glad you’re doing well.

    • Great insight, Cathryn – the power of the subconscious!!

      I have thought of notes, yet I never know when the fog will descend and am never prepared. I have a journal that I keep where I write my thoughts on my novel as I go yet somehow those don’t click with me until I’m back in the story.

  2. Sometimes we need some space when life makes plans of its own..Glad to hear you’re back. This is a busy time for you. To be able to reach back into your story shows that you are a committed writer.

    I have been thinking about you recently..Glad you are doing well.

  3. Glad the fog is lifting for you. I tell you what, every time I think mine has, it comes back on me! One day, I’ll emerge for good. Enjoy getting back to work on your MS đŸ™‚

    • One day, JC, one day!! It will def descend again, without question. It’s part of the challenge, moving in and moving out of writing mode. Hope you doing well with your wee ones.

    • ahhh well there is a difference between a forced break and one I’m taking to step away. But, in the end all turned out all well, with me only being completely daunted by the work and the direction I’m moving in. aaaaahhhhhhhhh
      đŸ™‚

  4. Would you believe your never showed up in my reader, and I just happened to check your blog today?!

    Glad you’re back. I missed you. And happy to know your story was waiting for you to slip into.

    I don’t generally have trouble slipping back into it, but when I’m forced to be away, I always panic … maybe THIS time I won’t get it back. Silly, I guess.

  5. Like you and the others who’ve posted, I worry (freak out!) if I go too long between writing sessions on a particular book, but if I take a deep breath and remember past projects, I am usually calmed: yes, the first few minutes might be more difficult than if I’d written, say, the day before, but I quickly fall back into the story and it’s like I’ve never left.

    I’ve had similar laments with various rewrites–how will I sustain the enthusiasm, the passion for my story? But that all that’s just nasty inner critic stuff–be it 3rd, 4th (or 12 on my second book!), I get into the story and its world again like it’s brand new–but with even more intensity, because I’m starting to really _know_ the people, know their stories, know what needs to come out.

    It’s wonderful that you got in a great writing session again. I wish you more and more as your wee one grows. Enjoy your little ones immensely and don’t worry the story(ies) will always be there.

    • Thanks, Ev. Thanks for pointing out that thinking of past works is a great way to calm oneself when daunted. I’ve never done that, and reading that now I see it’s very true. Looking at the long term picture can be overwhelming, but just letting go and getting caught up in that other world is so satisfying. And reminds me why I write in the first place.
      Time is going so quickly. Baby 6 months already. Definitely the writing will always be there while this stage is fleeting.

  6. I find it difficult to get back into writing a piece if I leave it for a while. I’m always tempted to write something new instead. This week I’ve gone back to a story I wrote two years ago and I find myself stuck in exactly the same place. I think maybe I’m just waiting for the right story, the one I’m really passionate about. I hope once I find it I’ll always be able to return to it, even if circumstances take me away for a while.

    • I love this comment, Helen. I think you’re absolutely right about the right story taking a hold of you. It will happen.
      I find short stories much harder to rewrite. I don’t often work them much. Their tools for me, really, or a means of expression, or a diversion from a novel. Have you had that particular short critiqued? Sometimes that help me move past a section I am stuck on. Just the dialogue with another writer opens all sorts of possibilities.

      • No, I’ve never had the story critiqued. I usually wait till a story is finished, or almost finished, before taking it to my writers’ group. I haven’t progressed far enough with this one to think it was worth bringing to the group. They’re a friendly bunch and I think they would be willing to talk it over with me and work out some ideas. Thanks for the suggestion!

      • What I do in this kind of situation Helen is let them them exactly what stage the piece is at and what kind of feedback I’m in need of this way they don’t waster their time.

Leave a Reply

