tagged for eight.

I’m it! Caught by Linda, and Cathryn.

1. If you could have any superpower, what would you have? Why?

To be purely selfish right now it would be the power to stop time. FOr those of you who know me, you’ll understand this implicitly. What i do wonder is this: what happens when those superheroes unfreeze time and it begins moving again? In my world at the moment I am playing this is ‘free’ time. hey…if we’re dreaming…

2. Who is your style icon?

hmm, huummm, ho. ummm. let’s see…well, after baby I’m kind of trying to figure that one out myself. does that imply i knew it before baby?? anw, i was told once that my style is carrie bradshaiwsh – although i really really doubt it, and if so not intentional at all.

I had to come back in and edit this post, because I realized this question could apply to my writing as well, but my answer is still as vague. I cannot in any way say that my writing style emulates one person. I have been told my writing is similar to Margaret Atwood on more than one occasion (and even better! by one sweet reader, although I don’t see it), and one agent compared me to Ann Tyler (whom i still have not read – yes, I know, i know). How about you – any writers you’d compare your own style to?

3. What is your favorite quote?

i‘ll get back to you on this one!

4. What is the best compliment you’ve ever received?

i wrote a short that was first pov (most of my shorts are) through the eyes of an elderly lady, holocaust survivor. Someone read it before meeting me, and when she did meet me she stared at me for minutes before talking, finally saying she thought i was an old lady not a youngen. i think that compliment has seen me through many a rough writer moments of mine.

5. What playlist/cd is in your CD player/iPod right now?

am i the only female in her 30s who does not have a playlist? i will tell you that the majority of my dvds at the moment are still the wiggles, or some other kids tunes. although for the last while their favorite song has been young artists’ for Haiti, waving’ flag.

6. Are you a night owl or a morning person?

night owl! but, i will admit 3 kids later i am finally beginning to appreciate the quiet of the early morning (as long as I’m alone and the rest of the house is sleeping. now when did that happen??)

7. Do you prefer dogs or cats?

cats, i think. i do know that i am not a hamster or bird or fish person.

8. What is the meaning behind your blog name

jennifer neri’s blog. it’s my blog 🙂

oohh, i just caught Ev, and Ann, or will you call an oly oly oxen free?? lol

have a great weekend!

thanks for reading, thanks for playing!

18 thoughts on “tagged for eight.

  1. I love how you turned #2 into something much more interesting than clothing! Well done. An editor compared one piece of short fiction to Jim Thompson (The Killer Inside me, circa 1950’s) and one flash fiction reader compared a story to Poe. However, I believe my novels are not quite the same as my short fiction, so I have no idea! (similar to my lack of fashion insight)

    Your best compliment is a huge honor! I can see how that would carry you through the inevitable ups and downs.

    I enjoy Ann Tyler, although I have read anything by her in a few years, and adore Margaret Atwood, although haven’t read enough of her. The Margaret Atwood story that lingers the most is Bluebeard’s Egg — the title story in a collection. Have you read that one? What’s your favorite?

  2. I completely understand about the music playlists – I can name all the PBS icons but if you ask me to tell you about the current political situation you might get a blank stare. At least there are so many new fun shows for preschoolers!

  3. Quite a compliment to have your work compared to Margaret Atwood’s. I agree with Cathryn. You’re best compliment was a huge honour!

    Nice to learn these new things about you!

  4. I would also like the power to stop time. I think about it fairly frequently. I thought your favourite quote would be the Henry Miller one in your blog tagline. You know, the other day I had the first part of that quote running through my head and it took a while before I remembered that I came across it here. It must have slipped into my subconcious while I was reading your posts!

    1. The Miler quote works really well for me in my writing, and really displays what I feel. I don;t have a favourite quote, in fact I don’t even know that many quotes to tell the truth, Helen, but like so many other things in my life i appreciate different ones at different stages. Do you have a favourite?

      1. I like the Picasso quote “Inspiration exists, but it has to find us working.” I used to have it stuck above my desk but the scrap of paper got lost when I moved flat.

    1. I love being alone, Ann. Since kids, this is a rare occurrence. But it wouldn’t be for too long, maybe to shower alone, sleep a little uninterrupted, walk, think, and write write write. with two hands on the keyboard, and my brain all to myself. ahhh…it’s a nice dream 🙂
      ps. i LO0VE being a mom. wouldn’t trade it for ALL the free time in the world. I mean that.

  5. Oh, hey, no fair, I was “T” for time-out. 😀 Just kidding. I’m flattered to be tagged (although I admit it’s easy to do; I’m slow!)

    I loved reading your answers. Very interesting and fun! I’ll do my run this weekend and then figure out who I’m going to chase down and tag It.

Leave a Reply

