clarification

Yesterday afternoon I realized my last post could have been easily misinterpreted. It was bothering me so much that I decided that add this little post to clarify. I did not mean that my way of writing is the ‘proper’ way, or that the man who gave me that criticism was wrong. I meant only to show that right now literary has become very dynamic and is moving in some many new ways, and that each of us has our perspectives about that direction. After having read many posts from writers about how unlikely publication is, I suppose I was simply trying to say, don’t give up hope.

5 thoughts on “clarification

  1. Well, you’re right. Literature is dynamic and there are many ways to do almost anything, including write.

    I can see where your author was coming from – so much of what passes as ‘popular’ isn’t, when you get into it, that well written. So much of what is amazingly ‘literary’ literature isn’t popular. Is popular stuff ‘dumbed down’ in terms of grammar, vocabulary, style? Maybe, some of it anyway. But I’m sure it’s possible to write well and be popular at the same time!

    On a side note I’m currently reading Pynchon’s ‘Against The Day’. Not, I’d imagine, a terribly popular book. Certainly an acquired taste, because it’s more of a shaggy dog story (I don’t know if you have that term in the US?) than something that has a recognisable plot. On the other hand I have to admire someone when I know that even a throwaway remark that takes up half a sentence must have entailed weeks of research on the history of photography, the uses of dynamite in mining, airship construction, or whatever…

  2. Hi Jennifer, I think most of us took exception to the writer/critic’s comments because they weren’t exactly constructive and were very narrow in scope, they also overlooked one very important point: readers are as diverse as writers, which means there is room in the market for almost anything. Hope is a powerful tool in the writer’s kit.

  3. I think your message of ‘don’t give up’ came across clearly. There have been lots of runaway publishing success which almost didn’t make it into print at all because publishers thought there would be no market for them. I guess you can’t really know for sure what will capture a reader’s imagination until you give them it to try.
    I think that if you are interested enough in a subject to write about it, and care enough about your characters to want to spend a long time with them, then there will people out there interested in reading your book.

  4. Hi all – I just wanted to say that i have read your comments as they came in but was not able to reply. I won’t do so now as so much time has passed and I’m sure the thoughts have long passed. I finally have a laptop up and running and hope to visit you all soon! Wishing you all great writing.

Leave a Reply

