Breaking all the rules

This blog was never supposed to be about anything outside my writing life, but since I am not writing… I am not even thinking about writing, except to occasionally note that I am not thinking about writing, and to realize that I have not been able to participate in my critique group, or edit for publication the story that was shortlisted . I am consumed by the coming baby right now.

There, I broke another rule and inserted a personal photo on this post. I figure since my stomach has taken over all thoughts, it deserves a spot in here πŸ™‚

My six-year old took this picture of me and my daughter over the holiday weekend. We actually hit 25 C here! Unheard of, broke all records.

As for my literary life….well I am presently reading a Sookie Stackhouse book, pausing after every page and half because I cannot focus. There is still a month to go before my due date, but since I was told baby will most likely be coming early I cannot think beyond my nose, or my stomach in this case. (haha, lots of breaking going on over here.)

I’ve been reading all your posts through my e-mails, and am keeping up in this way. I wish you all the best with your writing, if I’m not around in the next weeks.

And, if you any of you have any good fluff to recommend for reading material I would be indebted.

32 thoughts on “Breaking all the rules

  1. Good job on living! As Ron Carlson recently said, “I’d rather have a life than be a writer.”And great photo! Thanks for breaking the rules. Enjoy yourself and your new baby. And keep us posted and pictured.

  2. What a beautiful bump! Good luck for the coming weeks – thinking about you lots and sending all kinds of good vibes your way!

  3. Erm… good fluff for reading material in the last stages of pregnancy? You really, really wouldn’t want my recommendations, since I write horror!
    I do remember a bit of dialogue from some old science fiction comedy in which a woman announces “I’m pregnant!’ Someone congratulates her and asks ‘Do you know what it is yet?’ She looks at them pityingly and says ‘A human, of course!’.
    Enjoy what you’re reading, and hope all goes well.

  4. Have you read the Shopaholic books by Sophie Kinsella? The fifth one is Shopaholic and Baby πŸ™‚
    Alexander McCall Smith’s No1 Ladies Detective Agency series is also good.

  5. Oh my, but the sight of your stomach brings back memories to me of when I was pregnant (so long ago). Bless you, I was just as big and trust me when I say, I feel your pain (and joy). I hope all goes well, if you do nothing more than drop a post that says all is well, please do, so that those of us far away will know you and baby are fine.

    Good luck and I’ll be thinking of you!

    Teresa

    • Teresa, I just came to take a peak at my blog – it has beeb weeks, and found your comment in my spam! Well, I’m glad I found it. I am shocked to see I posted this way back on April 7th, and here we are May 10 and still no baby!! But much bigger! I was taken off the high risk cat about 2 or 3 weeks back and that reduced the stress a lot. Thanks for asking and checking in – it should be any day now. Officially 39 weeks and 2 days. I’m hanging in, and looking forward to having more energy and catching up with everyone – this has been quite the ride. All for a good cause. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Patti, thanks for coming in to check on me πŸ™‚
      Yes, it will always be there, just hard not to miss it at times. I get the urge to sit and write but when I have the chance I just need to lay down and sleep. I am at the mercy of my body for the moment, lol.

  6. Thanks for breaking rules for this post. I enjoyed seeing the Consumer of All Thoughts.

    I haven’t been pregnant (as far as I’m aware) and don’t know what is your definition of fluff, but when I’m not feeling well, I flip through a collection of Calvin and Hobbes, by Bill Watterson. Comics like that don’t require as much concentration as a novel; the action imagery sometimes remains clear when the words are hard to read; and contain enough philosophy and higher vocab to stimulate the thinking part of the brain (when it allows stimulation).

    I also recommend Peter S. Beagle’s The Last Unicorn, Billie Letts’ Where the Heart Is, L. M. Montgomery’s Anne novels, J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series, and anthologies that might contain a touch of humor. Hmm… what’s more recent? Carrie Vaughn’s Voices of Dragons is a fairly straight-forward YA novel and not too dark.

    Best wishes for this month!

  7. Aw, you’re soooo beautiful. I came by (after far too long an Internet absence), thoroughly expecting to see a happy, NEW BABE HAS ARRIVED post . . . but maybe he/she has . . . It’s been a bit since your last reply to this thread. May God bless you and yours in this exciting, happy time!

    • HI Ev!! You know I was reading your comment on my phone on the way to the hospital in labor on the morning of the 14th (what timing you had)! My mom was driving me while my hubby brought the kids to school, and after I read your comment I distracted myself by telling her all about the post I read of yours about the accident your husband had (in between contractions). Never had the chance to comment on it, but I hope he and your son (and you!) have both recovered from it!

      We are great – at home with healthy gorgeous baby boy! He’s 2.5 weeks now πŸ™‚

  8. I hope everything is going well with you! I’m in the last weeks of my own pregnancy and have been thinking about your and your wee babe who must have arrived by now. I hope the whole family is blissed out and settling in nicely together *hugs*

    • Thank you JC!
      So excited for you!!!!!!
      We are great! I hope you are doing well and not too tired. I have to pop over to your blog and see how many weeks you are now. ’tis my first hurrah back online in ages….amazing the bonds that created through blogging. I never would have thought prior to beginning this blog.
      I wish all the best in the next weeks. Easy and speedy and healthy for you both.

  9. Awww, congratulations on your little son. I know he will bring fun like you cannot imagine! And I’m so glad (er?!) that my own silly boys’ story could be a distraction during your labour! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

