Sometimes things follow you…

This past week has been filled with doctors, and ultrasounds, and vaccine clinics, and this week will be filled with kids at home due to swine flu at schools. When I have days, or weeks, or as it turns out, months like these, I rely on my fiction. Nothing like loosing myself in a good book (writing or reading).

Lined up for my reads were: Santa Olivia, by Jacqueline Carey and The Year of the Flood, by Margaret Atwood.

Little did I know that both these books were about the aftereffects of a flu pandemic (I suppose I should read jacket covers more often.) Such different authors broaching the same subject, yet certain elements of the books are surprisingly similar. Both have the Texas border sealed off. In Carey’s novel the street kids find a home in a Church. In Atwood’s novel the street kids find a home in a ‘new-age’ clan, God’s Gardeners. I am still reading them, and will see how the novels will diverge, yet both have thus far shuffled between an adult and a child pov.

I suppose that both these authoresses were inspired by the events of last year’s swine flu.  This post is not about any revelation of mine, or any breakthroughs, but is really just about the reminder I had of how susceptible we are to our environment.  Writing is such a solitary practice, yet daily activities, and even global events will find their way into our stories, be it in the form of a character or as a major plot. Sometimes I forget this.

21 thoughts on “Sometimes things follow you…

  1. What a good insight about how the environment works its way into a solitary practice. It’s such an integral part of the story, sometimes we don’t even recognize how it affects the action.

  2. It’s so interesting that both books have such similarities in subject and style! Great point about daily life sneaking its way into our work; sometimes I get the most unusual inspiration from the most common things and experiences.

    Sounds like life is pretty busy for you these days, I’m glad to hear you have worlds of fiction to sink into for relaxation! 🙂

  3. Ultrasound? New one coming in the spring? Forgive me if you announced this in another post and I missed it, but do you have an announcment to make? 🙂

    1. They are, Lawrence, but I would have been happier with something more removed from my reality at the moment 🙂
      Two trips to the vaccine clinic done and another next week as we are all in different categories, empty schools, panicking moms……

  4. “how susceptible we are to our environment. Writing is such a solitary practice, yet daily activities, and even global events will find their way into our stories, be it in the form of a character or as a major plot”

    Nicely put. It makes me want to examine my own stuff (particularly the current NaNo novel, because I’m writing it so quickly) to see what global events have found there way into the story.

  5. Congratulations, Jennifer!!! How much fun.

    And in the words of David Foster Wallace, “and but so” life does happen… If it didn’t we wouldn’t have anything to write about.

Leave a Reply

