Back to the Future

When this blog was only a thought I wondered where I would get ideas for blog posts. Once I began blogging, I realized how literature was part of my daily life, and all I had to do was look into my thoughts. Having been away from writing and blogging the last two weeks, I feel like a person steeping back from a relationship.

My mind is occupied with thoughts of ‘after labor day’, when the kids will be in school and I will have a few hours a day to myself to write. I am looking forward to finally doing those two requested posts by Cathryn and Helen. I look forward to beginning to illustrate some of those kids books I’ve been playing with. I look forward to reading and critiquing. I look forward to blogging on a daily basis. (What a support group you all are! I would have never known before I began this blog!). I am even looking forward to beginning my querying process again.

But, there is one thing I do not look forward to, and that is coming to the end of my novel. Now, I tell myself that I am not done, by any means. All I will have completed in the next few weeks is the first draft! Yet, somehow, I know the story will have been told, and the refining process, while immensely gratifying, is not what I am longing.

The first novel I wrote, I did not have such anguish with. That story was all about the words for me. It was a complex story, but all I wanted to work on was the writing. With this novel, the writing doesn’t really matter. It is the immersion in the story that is wonderful. Going to that other place. Living with those other people.

When I think of the end of this novel, I also think of the next story that needs to be told. I am thinking that perhaps I will need to edit and begin a new story at the same time. Will they interfere with each other? Will the voices become blurred? Perhaps I just need to slow down, and assess when the time comes. For now, I will try not to think of the loss to come, and I will let the rest of the story continue to shape itself into a closure.

10 thoughts on “Back to the Future

  1. Oh yes, I know what you mean! When I started the blog, I wasn’t sure where my post ideas would come from, either – or, that everyone would become such an amazing support group, like you said. I’m so glad we’re both part of this blogging community!

    I loved reading about you feeling immersed in your story. I love days like that, when the story comes so naturally and it’s like you’re right there in the world you’ve created. Your post is inspiring because it reminds me that while writing takes a certain level of mechanics to get it on the page, it is not a mechanical process – there’s heart in it, and life, and all those other things that make you want to write it and others want to read it.

    • Thank you, owl and sparrow! Absolutely, otherwise for me there would be no reason to write. It is the technique that can be a learned skill, not the creation. (does that make sense?)

    • I do enjoy editing, Patti, but not in the same way. Editing is satisfying in that I see the details ironed out. It is a similar pleasure to relishing a clean house. But, then things always need tending again the next day (or hour or minute lol).

  2. Jonathan Danz says:

    It sounds like you’ve got a lot of projects awaiting you after you finish this draft! I look forward to hearing how it goes if you decide to write one project and edit another at the same time. Right now, I can’t imagine doing that because I’m having a hard enough time managing my only project. However, I can see where keeping things fresh for each project by not being completely immersed could work wonders. There are definitely days I’ve spent on my current project that have been exhausting and taking a break might have been the wise choice.

    • Hi Jonathan – I do have so many projects too choose from – too many! (being not enough hours to attend to them all). But, it’s a good thing. The thing for me about writing and editing two different works at the same time is that it uses different parts of the brain and satisfies both the creative side of me and the more linear side of me. Usually, when editing, I like to write my shorts. I’ll see when I get there. Have I mentioned that I am so excited at the prospect of having free writing time again?? lol
      Hope your own editing is going well!

  3. A deluge of blog post ideas is definitely a challenge.

    The re-writing process is growing on me, I find I’m relishing it now. Love your analogy of a clean house and re-writing. 😉

    • Thanks Cathryn – so glad to hear that you’re enjoying it!
      You mentioned that you felt silly going on four years. I felt the same way, until I met countless writers who were in the same boat. Seven eight years is not uncommon (even ten!). I am told that the average literary novel is produced every 4 years (now, I am not writing literary novels. more mainstream). Besides, think of how much have learned during those 4 years!

  4. vanyieck says:

    I’ve been working on multiple projects through out the summer. Its been very confusing. I’ve decided to simplify my writing after school starts. I’ll be interested in following your transition.

Leave a Reply

