where did she go?

A quick little Hello post!

I have managed to pull my back and have been flat on the couch for the last 5 days – that’s where I am! (And, my modem is broken, and I am waiting for delivery of a new one so that I can use my wireless on my laptop – Funny, how life seems to be incomplete when I am not connected!) At least the AC is not broken. Summer has finally arrived here, and it came with all its brutality.

I have a question, that I think for me is the most important one I have yet asked on this blog:

When life has conspired in such a  way as to leave you with the inability to write (for whatever reason), how do you cope?

It seems to me, that writing as an art, needs constant output (when in the throws of it). I have been thinking I should just pick up a pencil and write (as opposed to typing), even for a few minutes at a time. It is funny, how when my writing time decreases the need to do other art forms arises. Such as the desire to paint, or to create wall murals for the kids, or, or, or. For me the desire to dance surfaces. Yet, none as strong as the need to to create through writing and stories. A myriad of ideas arise, leaving me more frustrated because I know I cannot attend to them. Perhaps a pencil and paper are the answer after all. How spoiled have I become to think of this method as primitive!  🙂

27 thoughts on “where did she go?

  1. I’ve been worried about you … disappearing like that. And you have my sympathy for your pain, I’ve been wrestling with a herniated disk for about five weeks now. Hope you get well soon.

    Yes, get out the paper and pen. The novelty of that “primative” method might bring out something new in you.

    • Thank you sweet Linda!

      Ouch! Painful! I hope you get some relief!

      I have allowed my brain to go much this last week, and zoned out on tv. Now I know why I never do such a thing!

  2. Ouch! Hope you’re starting to feel better!

    I’ve never tried this, but I’ve always wondered about voice recorders. Sometimes, I leave thoughts behind using the pencil/paper method. (That may not always be a bad thing.) When I’m frustrated because I can’t write (or type) quickly enough, I’m tempted to get a voice recorder and try talking it out. But I imagine that the experience would be so different from writing … just as reading a book aloud is a different experience from reading silently (at least for me). They’re both good experiences; in some ways, I come to appreciate the words a bit more when reading them aloud. But now that I think more about it (whoa, what is this stream of consciousness commenting? Perhaps another reason to abandon the voice recorder idea before I even attempt it), I could see how speaking into a voice recorder could have serious limitations. If I obsess over word choice when writing, I will definitely have problems when speaking the story. Hmm. Well, if you do try it, let me know how it works! I’m always up for using other people as guinea pigs. ;-D

    Seriously, hope you feel better and that you’re able to get back to your writing- however you do it.

    • Thank you, Christina!

      When the kids where baby babies I used to read whatever I was reading out loud to them. They liked to hear my voice, and it enabled me to read. It is an interesting thought you have.

  3. If I feel the desire to write but life conspires against me, I do one of two things: I try anyway, or I talk myself into being okay doing something else. If I go with ‘something else,’ I decide to fully enjoy it (rather than tell myself I should be writing). I go to the gym, I play/sing music, I read books, or chat with a friend. I don’t really like abandoning my goals for the day, but sometimes life happens that way and I guess it’s better to embrace it than fight it.

    I hope you feel better soon!!

  4. Jonathan Danz says:

    When I can’t write, I resort to reading – if it can be about writing, that’s great. If not, at least I’m still doing something related. If I’m away from writing for more than a day, I get cranky. I think the pen and paper is a great idea. Maybe there’s a short story in there that can only be conveyed through graphite or ink!

  5. Pen and paper is always a good alternative and when I don’t have the opportunity to even do that (If I’m at work for instance) I let me characters speak to me and I’ve actually ironed things out that way.

    Hope you are soon on the mend. I have suffered from back problems in the past and it is not a nice things at all.

  6. Hi Jenny, I panic if I can’t write. Really panic. I was in hospital once with a form of strep throat that had got out of control and I couldn’t write or play the piano for a few days. I ended up making story notes in an exercise book.

    Alternatively, you could through the plot and subplots in your mind. Or summarise the story in synopsis form but audibly. I really hope you get better soon. Back/shoulder injuries are awful.

    On a side note, I’ve sort of self-published six pieces of my piano playing recently. I’ve placed a link on my blog to the online piano recording, if you want to hear.

    • Sounds awful, Lawrence. Thanks for it! I also play (or rather have been learning for years) the violin, so often times, when I cannot write and cannot play. (the back thing is a recurring injury).
      I will come and listen to you play!

  7. Here’s my analogy as an answer: I love to cook. Some erroneously consider me a gourmet. (Too bad for them.) There are times I don’t feel like cooking or can’t due to time constraints. But I have many cookbooks that I peruse. I scan Epicurious.com and BHG.com for recipes. I read old CHEF’s catalogs and learn about knives and mixing bowls.
    So, you can’t write. You read. Novels. Short stories. Heck, read a cookbook. Watch a movie. Listen to some music. Feed your soul for the outpouring that will soon follow. Because, you know darn well that as soon as you’re able to, you will spew the thoughts percolating inside you.

  8. Any form of art provides an outlet. The feeling of creative build-up is just awful, and I’m sure you’re coping with enough awfulness.

    I live with chronic pain, so I’d have to impair both hands before I’d stop writing from an injury. If no one could dictate for me, I’d sing. I’d sing until everyone around told me to stop.

    Singing is good medicine.

  9. I love the title of this post! And I’m glad to be reading backwards and know already that your back is better.

    And yes, I’m afraid that I’ve become addicted to the internet too. I get antsy when I can’t check in. It’s crazy.

Leave a Reply

