A little trick when you need to come back.

I have started leaving little notes for myself when I end each writing session. What I see coming next. What so and so is going to say. etc.

In the past I have on memory, but sometimes memory fails. Thankfully I started doing this a few weeks back, because coming back to writing this week has been a little challenge for me. 

Today, I re-read my last few pages, re-read my notes, and started writing. Slowly at first, but then faster, soon without thought.

Usually when I write,  I try to get everything out. In the last few weeks the second thing I noticed was that if I left off my writing in a ‘moment’ coming back to it the next time was spontaneous.  I was walking back into a scene.  Back into emotions. Everything was ready for me.  I started doing that every night, and I noticed that the next day I was much more productive, because I did not have to waste any time getting back into the right space.

It felt great coming back to my story, even if only after a few days away. It was like coming home.

Linda Cassidy Lewis offers a trick in her post It’s always about chocolate. She suggests you write down one line that you are writing towards – a future goal that is meant to lure you – a carrot on a sting, or in this case, chocolate.

Any tricks you want to share about getting back into writing after a hiatus?

22 thoughts on “A little trick when you need to come back.

  1. I love this! Sometimes, I leave off mid-sentence when I quit for the day. Leaving things undone drives me nuts, but it helps to get into the thought again when I come back to it. I don’t often leave myself notes, though, but I think it would be a really good idea (especially if I take a long break and don’t know what I was going for in the moment I left off).

    • Thank you!
      I think mid sentence is a great idea, owl and sparrow! I will try it tonight, I think.
      I was also going nuts leaving something hanging, but now I find it a comfort, something to look forward to – I am eager for it!

  2. Yes, I notice when I leave the writing when it was going good helps me break back into later. Otherwise, I just kind of sit there and stare out the window.

  3. I was at a convention recently and had the opportunity to do a mini-outline for my next five or six chapters. It was great, because I had all these thoughts coming as to what needed to be covered and how each scene would be outlined.

    So when I get interrupted and can’t recall what I wanted to say, I go back to my outline to make sure I covered all my key points.

    Usually, I don’t have a problem picking up where I left off if the scene is working right and I’m in the right POV. It’s when I have to haul the chapter through a sieve that I know something is wrong. 😉

    Great post!
    Teresa

  4. I print out the last few pages I wrote and read them before I go to sleep. The next day, it’s easier to jump back in.

    I like your description of feeling like you’re “coming home”.

  5. Great post. I know how you feel. You go back to writing and you think now where was I going with this. Then I go back and read and I end up editing and it just goes down hill from there.

    • Oh, Patti, I have to still my editorial hand otherwise there is not going forward! Editing can be so much, but I have edited so many things that don’t make it in, I leave it to the end.

  6. I usually just stop in mid-sentence as owlandsparrow does. From time to time I add a note or two at the end to remind me to cover something I think is important, but not very often.

    If I have taken a long break from a project , I will reread it and outline to help me get back on track. This doesn’t work for me in an early draft stage, though.

  7. Sounds like a good idea and something worth trying. I do often rely on my memory although I will also admit to being stuck on revising what I wrote last before moving on. I have never written a first draft straight through to the end. But then that leaves me with very little revising to do once I’m finished.

    • Very different from the way I work, Laura.
      It is hard to say what will be with this novel, but with my first, oh the editing went on and on and on and on and on.
      🙂
      oh, and I think it will continue to be edited!

    • Yeah, it feels really odd to me, too! I’m glad it’s working for you! I’m thankful I put up with the odd feeling (especially since I’m just getting back to work after vacation) because I know exactly where to pick it up again!

      • It has been helping me in this way, as well owlandsparrow. A good trick, especially when I am not able to write consistently.
        Part of me is looking forward to the kids going back to school to have some working time again, yet…..I will miss them!

  8. Some famous writer did this too–stopped for the day in the middle of a scene. So he could jump right in to writing the next day. Hemingway, maybe. Wish I could remember.

    • It keeps me locked in, there in the scene! Of course, at times it is a struggle not to complete the scene, but writing time restrictions do help!
      Let us know if it comes back to you, Cynthia.

Leave a Reply

