some musings

Yesterday my oldest son graduated from kindergarten. He finished at noon, and it was a HOT day, and I took the youngest one to buy pool stuff for the pool and picnic party. When we got to the store, I was stunned by the mountains of lunchboxes, schoolbags, and school supplies, and a mother exclaiming that she had to pick it all up NOW, otherwise it would be sold out when she needed it in September. Wasn’t school ENDING today?

school supplies

Once I did pick up my son, in his backpack was not only a order form for school uniforms (deadline 2 weeks away!), but a list of school supplies we needed.

What does all this have to do with writing?

We are constantly striving to be ahead of the game, forgetting to live in the moment. Producing is a primary goal. I cannot help but think back to Anne of Green Gables, mailing a short story, and receiving a response months later. Her braids streaming behind her, as she ran with excitement, a letter in hand.

anne.jpg

I imagine dipping into ink, and scratching away by candlelight, without all the pressure to produce. It makes me wonder how my writing would have been if I had only a typewriter, or even a paper and pen.

12 thoughts on “some musings

  1. Depending on the publication, you may still need to mail your story and wait for a letter months later.

    The difference between Anne and most of today’s writers is attitude. She had enthusiasm for everything she did and did what she loved, regardless of what others expected of her. She is a well-loved character because she’s a wonderful role model.

  2. Thank you, Ann for your comment! I concede, occasionally something has to go out by post. With everything being spontaneous, I am one of those who go crazy waiting – this has been a point of contention for me in the last months with the universe conspiring to teach it to me! 🙂

    It is funny, as an adult how often I think of Anne – I never realized what an impact she had on me as child. We have a trail nearby, and whenever I walk it, I think of herstill. Her exuberance certainly is one of those things that inspire me!

  3. I read the first in the series, and much later a few of the others. The part of her series that stuck with me the most was her thoughts on death. It was such a comfort to hear her description of the after life. Almost everyone seems to think of clouds, and harps, and a life so alien to this one its almost scary in its own right. Hers is more down to earth…literally. She believed that when you died, the next life would be a lot like this one, just with less pain. I like that.

  4. “We are constantly striving to be ahead of the game, forgetting to live in the moment.” That is so true, and we end up missing out on so much because of it. I don’t know what it is, but I woke up today feeling pretty unaccomplished. Thanks for this post, it reminds me that sometimes we need to get outside of our own head and just enjoy life for what it is at that exact moment. I think I’ll go spend a day at a park.

    1. I hope you enjoyed your day, Andrew 🙂
      Sometimes, I need to slow down and remember why I am writing, and really, production has very little to do with it. When I am ‘done’ a piece, it feels satisfying, but it also feels sad that I have to let go of the world I have inhabiting while writing it. Does that sound odd?

      1. Not at all, in fact I know that feeling quite well myself. Thanks for the well wishes, things didn’t go as planned today, but that’s pretty typical it seems. I hope yours was enjoyable as well and thanks for all the nice things you’ve been saying about my blog posts lately. It really means alot to know some one is enjoying them.

  5. Because I spend far too many hours in front of this computer, I have to wonder how different my life might be if I “unplugged.” It’s a struggle to keep up, yet exciting. But everyone I know talks about how life seems to speed up more every year. Why? Half this year is already over! Can you believe it?

  6. I absolutely love writing by typewriter. I bought one several years back, and since then I have become basically convinced that using a typewriter is the ultimate means of channeling written creativity. I think it’s the permanence. You can’t delete on a typewriter!
    And, yes, life these days is more hurried than it has been in the past. Slowing down and savoring moments is rewarding and very fun. But, at the same time, what tends to catch us up in a rapture is the whirlwind that life tends to manifest as!

    1. Hi Sameera, and thank you for joining!! You are the first writer I have come across who uses a typewriter – I think it is fabulous! I have thought often about using only pen and paper, but I cannot bring myself to be slowed down to such a degree. Did you find your writing changed when you began using a typewriter? I imagine I would become much more methodical, as, like you said, it all so permanent.

Leave a Reply

