Obsessed???? I think so.

Anyone else checking their e-mails about a thousand times a day?

It’s a good thing the mailman only passes once day.

mail

I am slowly – oh so slowly – sending out queries. I have only sent a few e-mails out (and one full ms), but I am finding excuses to return to computer every few minutes, and while I’m here I might as well check my e-mails!

I like to research an agent before I query, and I wonder about how to personalize a letter to them.
Would it be proper to insert into the letter that you think they are great because of novel X and X that they represent, even if they are not similar to mine? Sometimes I come across an agent that has such high praise from the author’s they represent, but I feel it would be unprofessional to say so. Not so certain any more. Do you think an agent would take to this kind of praise – or would it seem like fanfare?

9 thoughts on “Obsessed???? I think so.

  1. I’m right there with ya–if I don’t hear a “ping” coming from my computer for more than an hour, I go and wake it up to make sure it’s working! 🙂

    As for personalizing the queries, I think it’s anybody’s guess. Some agents complain about compliments (in their blogs) as overdone. Others say it is a nice touch to distinguish bulk queries from the ones who took the time to address them personally. Who knows?

    • How can you tell if a rejection letter is a form letter? OK – sometimes it’s clear, but othertimes I’ve found myself wondering, is this a personal letter, or a well-crafted form letter?

  2. From what I’ve been able to see at the agents’ blogs I’ve been following, they don’t mind it if you personalize the letter a little.

    I wouldn’t glow all over them, but if you’re contacting them because you’ve heard wonderful things about them from their clients (especially if you know their clients), then there’s no harm in that. Even if you know know any of their clients personally, I don’t think it hurts to say “I chose you because I really enjoy XX and XX’s novels, which you represent.”

    The key word is BRIEF. I don’t think it ever hurts to let them know that you researched them – in a positive kind of “looking for a suitable agent” kind of way, not the scary “stalker” kind of way. 😉

  3. Of the agent blogs that I have followed, all suggested to read the work of clients they represent. It shows you’ve researched them and know their tastes.

    When the time comes (please be soon) to query, I plan to at least read excerpts to get a vague idea. Even better is to find out who agented the books on your bookshelf. Then you can honestly say “I’ve read” such and such.

  4. tikiman1962 says:

    Talk about frustration. I don’t have “legal” access to the internet at my work station and the pc’s for employees on my floor has been down for moths. I could go to other fllors to check but then I sacrifice my reading and writing time (which I do on breaks and lunch). So, all my email/computer stuff is done at night and I have to fill in the evening (after making dinner and cleaning the dishes {Yes, ladies, I do the cooking in my household}) with checking email, updating the blog, writing, editing, all manner of crazy creativity, and THEN srttling in for a couple of Martinis before retiring.
    Whew!

  5. You’re not missing anything, tikiman. The www is a big time gobbler! Useful, fun, but it can take away hours of your day…which is ok, if you have them to give!

  6. I always personalize my query letters–no gushing. Just why I’m writing to this agent in particular.

    I know a rejection is personal if the agent mentions a character or something more specific than “the writing.”

    It’s a horrible process–the waiting, the first few rejections….ugh. If it weren’t for the writing, no way would I do it.

Leave a Reply

