Freedom!!!!!!!!!

I am writing a novel that was to be done in three parts, through three different eras, from the perspective of three different woman.

Over the last few months, I have thought about scrapping two of the eras, but I always told myself – no!

A few weeks ago, the first 70 pages of this novel were read by an agent, (she said it will be terrific. Yay!). She made the suggestion that I scrap two of the eras (none of that part is yet written). She thought it would be overwhelming for the reader. At first, I did not take kindly to this suggestion, but then I noticed myself thinking about it more and more.

Do any of you become attached to your characters? I am sure you do. Well, the thought of becoming these three different women when writing (there is one central figure who dominates throughout) which meant forming a gigantic bond with four main characters, left me quaking. I had never thought about it this way before.

I made the decision to stick with only one era (besides, I certainly can not go about ignoring the feedback of an established lit agent, can I? ) , and suddenly my novel become so much more enjoyable to write. I had not realized how much of a restraint I had placed on myself, due to word count, and plot structure.

I am free!!!

4 thoughts on “Freedom!!!!!!!!!

  1. I have become very attached to my characters. Sometimes they’re a labor of love, and sometimes I just feel like I’m in labor. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    It sounds like taking the agent’s advice was the right thing to do. Isn’t it wonderful how a little outside help can make the difference?

  2. Hooray for freedom! I hate it when a story starts to make me feel confined–maybe that’s always a sign something needs to be adjusted? Hmmm. . .

    Either way, your book sounds fascinating. And CONGRATS on the super positive feedback from an established agent. Are you shopping the book around even though it’s not finished yet? I’m impressed!

    And re: get attached to my characters? You mean the flesh of my flesh, blood of my blood ? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Hi Ev – thanks for popping in!

      My second novel was looked at by an agent who requested a full submission for my first novel. While it did not work out with this agent, it was great to have such positive feedback from her! It’s always interesting how others perceive my writing – it makes me see how, even though I am the writer, each reader creates their own world when reading. In this way, I imagine I am writing something that does not belong to me. Does that make any sense at all??

  3. I agree!
    I had to scrap a couple of characters too, but I liked them so much that I backburnered them for later books. I still plan to give them their own stories.

    But you’re smart to cut and focus on the one woman for now–I agree that less is more when it comes to character count! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

