Moving Forward

Two things happened recently that I’ve been waiting a long time to happen. I’d long given up on either of them happening.

The first is that I found a title for my novel.

The relief I feel at this happening is enormous. I really thought I’d be selling this book with some horrible title that just never really fit. I’ve only told one person the title. I’m just not ready to share it. It’s been sitting with me for a few weeks, solidifying and becoming permanent. I’m letting myself know what it feels like to have this title before I can see how others react. This is the first time I’ve had to keep a potential title to myself.

The second thing is that I’ve heard a song that is totally my novel. If I had to pick a theme song this would be it–it describes it in so many ways. So many authors have songs that depict their novel, and the fact that I didn’t was always a bummer to me. I thought I just wasn’t cool like that. Guess I was wrong :) The song is Radio Active, Imagine Dragons.


Other than that I’ve been busy getting my novel complete. Most of my brain power is designated to writing, and there’s not much left for my blog. I’m just writing as much as I can. Here’s hoping by the end of the summer I’ll have good news about my progress. I’ll be popping in occasionally.

Have a great summer!!!!

 

19 thoughts on “Moving Forward

    • Thanks, JW! I mean it when I say it was a moment I really didn’t think would happen for this novel! I’ve gone through so many potential titles that never felt right and when this one struck it was such an ahaha moment ! :)

  1. Congrats, Jen! You worked hard and deserve a restful summer! Well, as restful as it can get with three children. Have fun and enjoy your momentary freedom from writing. My best wishes on your success, cheers!

    • Thank you!! Took me a while to figure out who you are! lol. If you’re not using your name or giving a website, you have to give me a clue! Then the Hoss jumped at me and I realized :)
      You too, have a great summer with the three boys! Not sure restful is the right word to describe it though….lol
      Take care and thanks for the comment

  2. So pleased you found a title that works. It’s like naming a child isn’t it. I mean it is something the child/book has to live with for the rest of its life! Havea great summer!

    • Yes, and we have to live with it too!!!
      Thanks, Darlene, you too have a great summer! Hope the weather out in BC is better than here. We keep fluctuating from amazonian kind of heat to late fall chills. odd….

    • Hi, Laura!!!
      With my other wip that’s on hold while I finalize this one, the title came with the idea. Since that wasn’t the case with this one I was quite concerned. Guess it’s different with each piece…have a great summer, looking forward to your release! :)

  3. Wow, congrats on your title! That really is such an important part.
    I feel weird now because I don’t have a theme song for my book. Have to go look for one methinks ;-)

    • Hi Nisha! Last night I watched an episode of Modern Family that I’d PVR some months back (I’m not an avid tv watcher) and there was a commercial for The Host with the song Radioctive playing. I was mortified! If only I’d seen that before I posted here. Oh well…..
      I listened for so long to songs, wondering if one would strike, but never did. I long ago gave up! This one came at me out of the blue. I liked it and then one day realized why–the atmosphere of the song was completely my novel. Apparently I’m not alone! lol
      Hope you’re find is easier than mine! :)

  4. I know what you mean about everything falling into place when you’ve found your title…I also fret over protogonists’ names as this is an area I’m useless at…along with titles and writing the blur for the back cover of my book. Why am I a writer again…sigh?

    Have a great summer and thanks for sharing.

  5. Hi Jennifer! I’ve been wondering how you were doing. Like you, I’ve been working so hard on my novel that I rarely have words left over for my blog, or anyone else’s. But I’m taking a short break to refuel. It’s funny about titles–After millions of tries, I still don’t feel I have the right one for my first novel but for two others, I got the right title in the first three months. And for the one I’m working on now, the title came first! And I love that you found a song for your novel. But the time I finish one, I usually have a whole playlist : )

    • Hi Cynthia! So nice to hear from you!! :) Yeah, titles are a funny like that! Interesting that your title came before the story! Intriguing….”) You see, you’re one of those writers I was always jealous off–a playlist! wow. I hope you recharge and are full of energy to continue! enjoy! Thanks for stopping in!

Leave a Reply

